Whole Food for Whole People

Three years ago I went on “incapacity leave,” which is church speak for disability. I could no longer handle the full time duties of a United Methodist pastor, or

even the part time duties.

My health was gone: I was over 100 pounds over my ideal weight, I was having blood pressure spikes and plummets, my cholesterol was high, and I was also having the early warning signs of insulin resistance.  I  was a classic example of metabolic syndrome, plus I was having petite mal seizures at the most inopportune times.  I would be preaching along, or I would be telling the children a Bible story and suddenly, I would go blank for a minute or so.  As one wag put it, I could put my congregation to sleep with my preaching, but I wasn’t allowed to sleep myself!

When we clergy are appointed to a charge, we are responsible for the leadership and spiritual welfare of that faith community. On incapacity leave, some of us don’t know what to do with ourselves, for we have no “commission” and no “congregation.” I’ve always been a self-starter, for I worked in construction and real estate with my husband and his dad when I was married. I had to design my own lesson plans and take care of my own classroom as an art teacher, and as a sales agent for the Prudential, if I didn’t sell, my family didn’t eat. Hunger is a great motivator, as The Hunger Games novels tell us. I decided that I was appointed to care for myself, and I gave myself over to the greatest energy and effort I could, for it was my hope to be able to return in a few years to my calling.

Cornie’s Kitchen is the product of my journey. It’s not a real establishment, although I do have a Facebook page one can “Like.” I had to change my life style, to become a healthier person both physically and spiritually.  This will be a blog where I share my Whole Food for Whole People ideas.  We are busy people, but if we are too busy taking care of others, we will fall apart sooner rather than later.  I want to help others take care of themselves, so they can continue their ministries and live life to the fullest.

Joy and Peace, Cornie

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
Image | This entry was posted in Disability, disease, epilepsy, Health, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, insulin resistance, metabolic syndrome, Ministry, Occupation, The Hunger Games, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whole Food for Whole People

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

