An Afternoon Adventure

20121218-172645.jpg

Here it is, a week before Christmas and I’m ready to fire the cook at Cornie’s Kitchen. This is a labor/management problem since the owner and the employee are one and the same. I almost wrote one and the “sane,” but a week before Christmas no one is actually sane.

I’ve made the sugar cookies and had fun with those batches: stars with sugar sprinkles, snowflakes with stars mixed inside, bells with cinnamon clappers and even green bells with red clappers. These I divided up to smaller plates and delivered them to folks today. I have another batch to deliver tomorrow.

It’s not that my kitchen help is slovenly or a bad cook. She gives her best efforts to make interesting soups and other fare suitable for my health. She just has a bad attitude. I think it’s because she has the Christmas Crud.

I have been trying to “jolly up” her mood, so I thought, try something new! A challenge, an adventure, something with an unknown outcome just might shake the doldrums from her noodle.

The recipe is listed below. The biscotti are “artisan style” but they sure are tasty. I used Splenda because I like to cut the empty calories. I also used whole wheat flour that has more fiber than ordinary flour.

I ate the “crumbs” which were just the right amount of snack to put a smile on this cook’s face! Now with whom should I share this goodie? Nonni’s Biscotti will never call my name again.

I found this cranberry almond biscotti recipe at the grocery store. I noted that it had no oil, 2 eggs, 2 egg whites, 1 Tbs vanilla, 3/4 cup sliced almonds, 1 cup dried berries (I used cherries), 1tap baking powder, 1 tsp baking soda, 2 1/4 C flour. All the dry stuff goes in together, then all the wet goes in. On a floured board, put half of the mix together into a log 1 1/2 inches thick and 12 to 14 inches long. Do the same for the other half & transfer to an ungreased cookie sheet.

Cook at 375 for 30 minutes. Cut logs in half and set upright on sheet. Cook at 300 for 20 more minutes. Cool on racks. Keep in airtight container to keep fresh.

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in deserts, family, Health, high cholesterol, insulin resistance, menu and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

