Kitchen Fairies Needed

20130805-184625.jpg

I would rather eat chocolate pecan sandies than clean up my kitchen. Especially when these hot, sweet morsels are cooling on the rack on top of my oven and their scent is all too inviting. I would be eating every one of them, except for the cardinal principle of CORNIE’S KITCHEN: Share the cookies.

Eating ALL the cookies is the kind of activity that used to get me in trouble: not mindless eating, for I was intentional about any excess inhaling of cookies, homemade or packaged. This ravenous appetite went beyond satisfying any actual physical hunger and crossed over into attempting to fulfill emotional and spiritual hungers. I could and did eat entire bags of carbs in many different forms: sometimes I had the telltale chocolate rim around my lips of the Oreos and other times my fingers were orange from the fried Cheetos. Don’t get me started on ice cream…

But that was then, and I’ve had my own “great awakening. I have tools in my kitchen that my grandparents used. They are still useful to me, as well as nostalgic. They are nearly a century old because they have been well cared for, used carefully, and respected. Our bodies might last as long if we were to treat them with respect, use them carefully, and care for them well. A health scare like the great heart cath, uncontrolled blood pressure, pre diabetes, metabolic syndrome and a high stress career all combined to convince me that I needed to live a different life style.

Now when I hit a time of stress eating, I cook some wonderful cookie recipe, but I adjust the ingredients to make it healthier. Mostly I replace the sugar with banana and/or stevia, change regular flour for whole wheat, add old fashioned oat meal or chopped up apple
to the mix for fiber, or add orange juice and pulp in place of another liquid. So far I haven’t had anyone reject the food, and most are amazed that the cookies are filling, tasty, and low carb.

I either have to get these out of the house to share with friends, or I have to freeze them. If they are out of sight, I tend to forget about them! Sharing them is so much more fun, however, for I can redo another of the family’s treasures. Now if the kitchen fairies would just come and clean my work space!

LINK TO CORNIE’S KITCHEN COOKBOOK
http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/cookbooks.asp?cookbook=589012

LINK TO CORNIE’S KITCHEN
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cornies-Kitchen/411859538836606

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in deserts, emotional eating, Generations, Health, high blood pressure, metabolic syndrome, Occupation, sharing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

