THE GOVERNMENT IS SHUTDOWN BUT THE KITCHEN IS OPEN

20131005-143713.jpg

Yes. I’m a stress eater. Maybe you are too. If I can wrap my hands around a project, I can usually delay my eating urge. Today I was baking cookies. I have too many friends that are just emotionally overwrought about the latest brouhaha in DC. They are either scared by false info/fake facts or upset because they know people who are being hurt. No one goes on line, even with all their smart phone technology, to research the true scoop.

In my kitchen, a tablespoon is just a tablespoon. I just need to keep the salt and sugar straight, or my dish will take on an uncharacteristic flavor I didn’t intend. Following a recipe keeps me disciplined, as if I were a high wire walker taking one step at a time across a great chasm. It doesn’t do to rush from the first paragraph to the last any more than the wire walker needs to leap the distance in one great swoop. Lining up my ingredients in the order of use and setting them aside as they are used helps me to keep on track. This isn’t just for my older mind. I did this when I was younger and the phone rang, the doorbell interrupted, the children collapsed the living room furniture and the dogs insisted on being let outside at the most inappropriate time to guard the house from that errant squirrel.

The joy of tasting the cookies as they come out of the oven is the cook’s special privilege. If I’m giving away this bounty to bring happiness into the lives of others, I must test for quality control. If these can’t pass my taste test, they can’t get the CORNIE’S KITCHEN stamp of approval.

Everything I cook has to be good for my own personal health, so this is why the recipes are low salt, low sugar, and low fat. Diabetics, pre-diabetics, and folks with metabolic syndrome need to watch these diet areas. It takes a while to train your taste buds to enjoy the experience of real food, since processed foods add more of one of these three items when they take out or lower one of the ingredients.

I hope you enjoy these cookies. I made 60, not 80, so the calories were about 53 each. You can find the LOW CARB PEANUT BUTTER OATMEAL RAISIN COOKIES at this link:
http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=2590068

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in deserts, emotional eating, family, Health, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, insulin resistance, metabolic syndrome, processed foods, sharing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

