Give It To Me Real

20131104-083512.jpg

The countdown is on to thanksgiving day. Those of us who host the family feast aren’t quite ready to think about Christmas just yet. Our major retailers, however, are pushing the seasons upon us more rapidly than our senses can process them.

I’ve already seen, before HALLOWEEN, Christmas t-shirts on people, eggnog for Christmas next to pumpkin eggnog, and the countdown days to Christmas on facebook, Just yesterday, the Santa train photo chain made its first appearance in my facebook universe. More and more I wish I would hear or see some actual post/photo that is REAL rather than ripped from a web or FB site.

If I take too many Instagrams of my home cooked meals and post them on CORNIE’S KITCHEN (https://www.facebook.com/CorniesKitchen), please understand I mean to encourage my followers to desire a more healthful and simple life, while enjoying the pleasure of the tastes and textures of foods with simple herbs for seasonings. This way of cooking helps me and my followers keep our blood sugars under control and to lose weight if we pay attention to portion control and carbohydrate counts. I also post cartoons(I do steal these) that remind us to get sufficient exercise daily.

In addition, I also post news articles on diabetes, metabolic syndrome, nutrition, and food. I also post my recipe makeovers. My grandmother was making banana nut bread during the Depression Era when a family friend gave her this recipe that had been in her family for generations before that. It dates from the late 1870s, when sweet bananas were brought to America and were so expensive that if they over ripened, they weren’t wasted but used instead. That’s why this recipe is called “Waste not, Want more Banana Nut Bread.” http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=2594762

That photo at the top? It made my CORNIE’S KITCHEN page. I went this weekend to the NASCAR race at Texas Motor Speedway. That mountain is called the Tangled Twister, an entire large spud of hand cut spiral chips deep fried en mass. My seat mates were kind enough to let me photograph it!
Friends, while I was at the race, I saw people on their cell phones playing candy crush, checking facebook, texting other friends, and being so bored with real life. We no longer know how to live! The fresh breeze, the myriad of sounds and images are too much for us to process anymore. We have shrunk our worlds down to a 12 inch, a 7 inch or a 3 inch screen. Use that machine to take a photo of real life! Look through it and see what you have been missing!

Maybe the over processed food you eat is symbolic of the life you live: both are run through a machine. Take back the power! Learn to use these for the good of your body and soul. God bless you on your journey to wellness.

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in deserts, disease, family, Generations, Health, metabolic syndrome, processed foods, thanksgiving, vacation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

