Five Alarm Chili

I was sick over Christmas. Not because I ate too many of my cookies, but because I let a small cut get infected, and then it got dangerously worse. Let’s just say that CA MERSA is not fun, but drugs from the doctor and lots of bed rest brought me around eventually. I even got to the point that food began to taste good again.

One morning I woke up, made my coffee with half and half. Then I added just the spoon of Splenda, and as the first swallow flowed over my tongue, I thought, “Oh! my! this is good!” I knew then that I was on the road to healing if my appetite had returned and my taste buds had reawakened from their coma.

About a week later I was ready to brave the 5 alarm chili. My advice is to put in half the amount of cayenne peppers or red peppers (whole) first, let the pot simmer, and then taste the sauce, not the meat. The heat will be in the sauce, not the meat. If it isn’t strong enough, then you can add more. If you let it set up overnight, the pepper strength will increase some more.

Enjoy this. It is a low sodium, high protein, low carb full meal deal. I like to add a quarter cup of cheddar cheese to the top for extra taste.

Five Alarm Chili (also made as ding-dong chili for less ambitious tastes)

Five Alarm Chili
(also made as ding-dong chili for less ambitious tastes)

http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=2648384

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
Image | This entry was posted in christmas, disease, Health, menu, sharing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

