BLACK BEAN & PUMPKIN SOUP

20140128-153618.jpg

Oh! We had snow this morning! It didn’t stick of course, but it’s just barely above freezing outside. This magnolia blossom is wrapped up in her heaviest sweats & wool sox. So, I went to inventing. Cold weather brings out the mad scientist or the crazy cook, or I just get tired of my same old recipes and want something fresh to please my palette. Change. Gotta have it sometimes. Can’t keep cooking the same old diner’s greasy menu and expect a Michelin five star delight to appear on the table.

Like everything else from the kitchen here, it’s plum healthy. Click on the nutrition link provided in the recipe. If you cook real food, you are eating yourself healthy from the inside out. I started this journey of using food as medicine because I had been using food as my narcotic. I was an ice cream and cheese cake addict. That is to say, I stuffed my unpleasant emotions with sweet tasting goodies until I looked like a puff cake myself. Now, five years after hitting that medical wall of dangerously high blood pressure, rising blood sugars, excess body fat, and abnormal cholesterol levels, I’ve got my metabolic syndrome fairly well reined in.

I had to make a wholesale change in my life, however. Perhaps I benefit from my faith background, for I believe that God can make all things new, even as God can make everything out of nothing but his word. With that kind of power working in me, I knew I could change and become a new creation. I just wouldn’t get there by the same old paths that I had worn so well before. I could hear god saying to me, “go to a land I will show you.”

Learning to cook, eat and exercise healthy isn’t as easy as you would think it might be. Big Food loads our processed meals with fat, sugar, and salt in scientifically researched proportions to create the proper bliss points to keep us coming back for more. My friends all cook like Mamma used to cook. I’ve been to way too many pot lucks. I knew I’d changed when I looked at a restaurant plate of food and could see the fat glistening on it. I was no longer excited, but grossed out. I like my food simple now, not all covered up with cloying sauces and gooey cheeses. Vegetables take up most of the plate and lean protein gets its due. The spices flavor the food, not the salts.

Sometimes I have to force myself to exercise. Today is one of those days. I got out and did errands all morning, in this bitter cold and then I decided I’d really rather blog. And cook and create. Yes. So, I’m still going onto perfection, even if I haven’t arrived yet. Perfection is something we will achieve by faith, not works. In any event, I think we will come closer the more we surrender our will to God as we understand him. When we are in harmony with our god, the world may be falling apart, but we will be in the still center of peace.

Have a taste of something new & different. This is Black Bean & Pumpkin Soup. I like the velvet texture across my tongue. Enjoy it and be happy today.

Benefits for the health conscious person:
Low Sodium–under 250 mg per serving
Carbs–2 servings
Fiber–10 g
Protein–2 servings

http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=2667559

You can also find me at CORNIE’S KITCHEN on facebook

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in deserts, emotional eating, Generations, Health, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, insulin resistance, menu, metabolic syndrome, processed foods and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

