ALWAYS ON SPRING BREAK: THAT’S MY LIFE

20140326-144500.jpg

Happy hump day! I think I’m on Spring Break. At least that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. After years of producing “work” I sometimes find this luxury called retirement a chaffing rub.

You would think that nearly five years of practice “not working for the man” would have taken hold by now, but I still get up at 6:30 am most days and hit the sack by 11 pm at night.

I write my blogs and I paint. I make healthy recipes , I post interesting articles I read to facebook and I research background for my sci fi spiritual journey novel that I’m also writing. Somewhere in there I carve out an hour for exercise and doing my errands.

Then there’s this week. Monday I killed the laundry. Tuesday was a pension seminar/sales pitch for the gift annuity. We also heard the health insurance details for Medicare. Wednesday is haircut day. When I go three days without creating, I start having withdrawal symptoms! I don’t have the feel good feed back loop endorphins that I get when I actively engaged in creative work. Then I start craving chocolate. The Easter Bunny came home with me Monday, but he didn’t make it past Tuesday afternoon. RIP.

How do we eat healthy when someone else is cooking? We had lunch at the seminar, but I knew it would be carb heavy. While it did have ample chicken fajitas, lettuce and corn aren’t very good alternate carbs. I did bring my own salad fixings. I’ve learned that dropping blood sugar isn’t worth eating a free meal.

So here I sit. I’ve put away the clothes and dusted the furniture. If I get anymore excited, I’ll be vacuuming the floor. That is beginning to sound like work. It’s time I think about retiring again!

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
Image | This entry was posted in emotional eating, Health, insulin resistance, menu, Occupation, retirement, vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

