SCRAMBLED EASTER EGGS FOR BREAKFAST

20140420-073016.jpg

Some folks say their hard boiled eggs are hard to peel or their yolks are never set or the whites are tough. Most likely they’ve violated the cardinal rule of cooking: “Everything has its own time and temperature.” Cornie’s corollary to this rule is “You can’t hurry good food.”

Saturday afternoon I was boiling some eggs on the stove. I put a half dozen eggs into cold water in a pan, making sure the water completely covered them. Then I put a tight fitting lid on this pot, set it on a burner, turned it to high, and let it come to a boil. Once it boiled, I took the pot off the fire and set it aside to let the water cool to hand temperature. The eggs continue to cook gently in this bath. Once the water temps are cool enough to touch, I take this pan to the sink and run cold water over the whole thing until only cold water remains in the pot. This is the point you can either extract the eggs and store in the carton for future use as food or you can set upon paper towels to decorate for Easter.

Scrambling eggs for breakfast has the same “slow and low” rule that the hard boiled eggs use. First I fry my bacon in a heavy pan at medium high heat. If I notice the grease begin to smoke, I turn the heat down a tad. Once the bacon is crispy but not burnt, I take it out of the pan. I always drain my bacon of excess grease between two paper towels. I turn off the burner, take out the excess grease in the pan with the paper towel. (Throw this away.)

Into this heated pan put 1 Tbs butter and 3 well beaten eggs. Let this set up for a minute. Use a large spoon or spatula to stir up the eggs gently. If they aren’t setting completely, turn the burner back on low for just a little while. Eggs prefer a gentle heat! Add your spices: garlic, parsley, red pepper flakes or rosemary or whatever will wake up your senses. I like adding a bit of jalapeño cheese to mine!

Throw a couple of pieces of toast or some thick cooked southern grits beside this delight and you will say, “Oh, yes! I AM ALIVE!”

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
Image | This entry was posted in Easter, Ministry, sharing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

