THESE COOKIES HAVE WINGS

20140718-211411-76451468.jpg

The promised rain and cool temperatures held true Thursday, for the bottom dropped out and our outdoor temps were cooler than most of us air condition our homes and work places. The high was 70F. I wore a light cotton jacket when I went out later in the afternoon, but I’m getting ahead of my self.

I was anticipating baking cookies today, for nothing brightens up a dreary day like the opportunity to practice a little “quality control” or nibbling on the final product to make certain they are worthy to be shared from CORNIE’S KITCHEN. I cook for the pleasure of sharing, but also because I know that nobody today is into real food. People buy their cookies in a box, or in a mix if they are going all out. Often they just get the tube from the dairy counter for the slice and bake cookie. These are all processed foods with sugar as the primary ingredient My homemade Sugar Cookies are best made with a ratio of 1 part sweetener to 2 parts flour!

First I looked up the recipe in The Joy of Cooking, my mother’s favorite cookbook. She’s been gone to her final reward for a dozen years now, but my kitchen is a place where I still feel close to her. I use her recipes, but modify them for modern nutritional needs. I omitted 1/2 the sugar in this recipe and replaced it with an equal amount of Splenda. I reduced the salt from 1/2 to 1/4 tsp. We don’t need salt today. Our processed foods are chocked full of it! Our restaurants are dumping it into every plate they serve us. The less salt we eat at home, the better we are!

Once I had the ingredients and directions down, I could calculate the nutrition of each cookie. I like this Sparkpeople app because the recipe app will save to my nutrition tracker also. Then I could get down to the pleasure of playing with the tools in the kitchen. I enjoy using a fork to cream the stick of butter until it is light and fluffy. Working the brown sugar & Splenda into the butter with that same silver fork that I’ve had since I was married nearly four decades ago is very satisfying. Pick good silver: if the marriage ends by death or divorce, you have the good silver to remember the good days you did have together.

I always beat my egg with the vanilla before I mix it with the stiffer sugar mix. I do it because that’s how Mama did it. She was always cooking for somebody, just like my Nannie was. They were queens in their kitchens and always had room at their tables for an extra guest or the ability to whip up a casserole for a neighbor in need. I like to share the cookies because they pack a lot of unexpected treat in one small mouthful.

When I brought the promised bounty to my local DJ, he was surprised they were made from “scratch.” My banker buddies are used to being my test subjects. So far they have not died. They are very generous to me, and always appreciative of my offerings. Either their mothers taught them excellent manners, or these boys have hollow legs.

After visiting with them, I went to exercise. It was a day to do weights and walk, but for some reason, when I began my laps around the indoor track, my feet decided to pick up the pace. Before I knew what was happening, I realized that I was jogging for the first time in years! I cannot promise that these cookies will give your feet wings or make a couch potato into a 5K champ in one afternoon, but they gave me a great feeling of joy. Perhaps it’s the sharing of your gifts with others, rather doing for ourselves all the time, or the gift with no expectation of any reward or return that fills our cup so full it overflows. In any event, the recipe for walnut chocolate chip whole wheat cookies is attached:

http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=2771973

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in deserts, family, Generations, Health, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, insulin resistance, menu, metabolic syndrome, Nutrition guide, Occupation, processed foods, Recipe, retirement, sharing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

