CELEBRATING AT THE DROP OF A HAT, OR AT LEAST A NEW HAIRCUT

IMG_8899.JPG

IMG_8897.JPG

IMG_8902.JPG

Some folks need big moments in their lives before they can celebrate. Others of us celebrate at the drop of a hat. I’m not sure what marks the difference between these two groups, but I can tell you a short story. The buffet table is groaning with food. The guests are seated at round tables in the banquet room. Some are going to get the opportunity to go through the serving line first, while the others will wait their turn at the tables which have salads, bread and deserts already in place. The level of anxiety rises in the room as the guests all wonder who will be the first to hit the buffet line and who will have the leftovers. The ones that worry the most fear that there won’t be any food left for them.

Now we weren’t in Africa or India where wretched poverty and hunger is a daily trial, but we were in a comfortable and over fed neighborhood of Dallas, Texas, on the campus of SMU at the seminary. These were seekers, folks who wonder if God was calling them into the ministry. This was an opportunity to help them discern their calling, not to call them out for being anxious. They were put at the table with those of us who had learned to trust God to provide for us in all circumstances. After all, God’s treasure house is always bigger than our need, but like Paul says,

“I know what it is to have little, and I know what it is to have plenty. In any and all circumstances I have learned the secret of being well-fed and of going hungry, of having plenty and of being in need” (Philippians 4:12).

Today I celebrated my new haircut with the most wonderful Turtle Chocolate Ganache Cheesecake I’ve ever eaten. #Cafe1217 has the best and freshest locally sourced food in Hot Springs, AR. Once I found Diana’s place, I managed to bring all my friends there. They have gotten bad meals elsewhere, but never here. The Dirty Margarita Salad even had clover on it today. I didn’t find a 4-leaf clover, but it didn’t need luck because I was at Cafe 1217!

I had decided to splurge and break training. The cheesecake was calling my name, “Cornie!” I could hear it above the kitchen clatter as the staff cleaned up from the lunch rush. Unwrapping the brown paper slowly revealed the multiple layers of this high octane delight. I was ready to dirty that pristine spoon, but I was stymied: I didn’t know if I’d need a knife and fork or if I’d be able to attack this sweet mountain with this puny spoon.

I threw all caution to the winds, put my thumb on the turtle, and carved the first bite out of the cheese cake. Then I cut the next bite with a bit of the chocolate. Now I was in hog heaven and the Razorbacks haven’t even won a game this season! Let’s just say that if this desert were coffee, it would be a triple shot of extra strength expresso! I almost passed out from the sugar rush! I don’t eat this stuff very often.

Because it’s not a processed food, it had no nutritional label. I think I don’t want to know. It’s 8 hours post lunch and I’ve jogged 2.65 miles. My fitbit finally sang out with the 10,000 step buzz I get when I get to this goal. It’s time for the 9 pm snack and I’m just now getting a little bit hungry. I still have 1,000 plus calories for the day on my fitness calculator. I don’t think I’m going to use them all!

Oh yes, if you want a haircut that makes you want to celebrate how beautiful or handsome you are, you should stop by #Woodys in the Indiandale Shopping Center just down the street on Malvern.

Tomorrow is another day. I’ll be back on the straight and narrow. I think I’ll actually enjoy it.

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in deserts, emotional eating, Exercise, menu, Ministry, Nutrition guide, Occupation, processed foods, Recipe, sharing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

