A NEW OUTLOOK ON LIFE

IMG_4732.JPG</

I felt a little low because I was sick for a week and couldn’t get outside to exercise or be with people. In hindsight, I received the blessing of my neighbor’s ministry. She brought me the best home cooked meal I’ve eaten outside of my own kitchen. My friends prayed for me and sent me well wishes.

When I was able to walk around CHI Mercy Hospital, my regular route, I was in a state of heightened awareness, for I had not seen the bright cerulean blue sky nor the brilliance of the early autumn sunlight. All of the colors were changed, of course, for a week will make a difference in the landscape we see, whereas we sometimes miss the day to day incremental changes before us.

Beside the access road, the short weeds glowed violet in their seed heads as the cars rushed past them. Their undulating waves were like a small sea beside the asphalt. Down in the drainage ditch, taller weeds had lost their colors entirely. These now stood, swaying in the breeze that freshened now and then, like watchmen who have been awake too long.

Among the gravel bits that mark the border between the asphalt and the earth, I found a brown and white speckled butterfly stretching out its wings. I watched it and honored it until it was ready to fly elsewhere. Today I was out to see and be seen on a walk, not to break my record for time or distance.

Once I made the turn into the hospital grounds, I was well into singing along with Bon Jovi. I always feel better when my heart sings, but my body and mind feel better when I pump that extra oxygen to sing out loud as I exercise. If you worry what people will think, let me assure you of this: random babble worries folks. Song lyrics make people smile. You can be thankful that you are adding to the joy of the world!

As I made the halfway point, the helicopter was coming in for a landing on the backside of the building. This is also where travel trailers park for people who have come for treatment or to care for someone. A door opened on one of these, a blue eyed Husky bounded out on a leash, followed more slowly by a single breasted lady in a loose shirt and pajama pants. I must have been singing “Born to Be My Baby” from the depths of my heart, for she looked at me and her entire bald face lit up in a bright smile.

Yes, I thought, there is sick, and there is sick. I had a short couch cruise, but this lady has a journey. Sometimes a little walk is all you need to get your attitude straight. We can all find something to be thankful for day by day.

ARTANDICON: Cornelia DeLee: A Friend Loves at All Times, acrylic on canvas

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
Image | This entry was posted in disease, Exercise, family, Health, menu, Ministry, sharing, thanksgiving, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

