HUMIDITY PODS THE SIZE OF JUPITER CANCEL IRONING FOR THE DURATION OF THE SUMMER

  
Home from the laundromat and cooling down on the couch with the last hot laps of the nascar race at New Hampshire. Went out into the heat to clean clothes because I’d have to go out into the same heat to buy clean clothes or wash the dirty ones in the laundry bags. Washing seemed a better choice. 

It was so hot, I tried to take another person’s clothes from the dryers in addition to my own. But the heat has fried everyone’s brain. Folks were putting laundry down on tables already occupied by others, as if the heat waves were distorting and hiding their presence. If I could figure out how to patent this, I could sell it to the armed forces for stealth technology. 
A little rest on my parents’ antique couch in the air conditioning has revived my spirits. Cold mint green tea and a little snack of homemade pimento cheese on rye crisp crackers have brought me back to life. I can put my freshly cleaned clothes in the closet and dresser drawers one bag at a time. 
The ironing board can stay in the closet, however, along with the fancy steam iron, which makes neat any fabric from silk to linen. Thankfully I don’t have to use the great-grandmother’s iron. That object was heated on the wood stove until it was piping hot, then it was laid upon a material until the heat and weight pressed the fabric smooth. Keeping it moving took some muscles and not a few calories, so eating heavier didn’t much matter. 
Then again, I may not use my own lighter iron. Ironing is a supererogatory work. It will not gain our salvation, and the lack of it will not cause us to lose our salvation. I think we can safely set aside all compulsive desire to be neat in the midst of humidity pods the size of Jupiter. No amount of starch or sizing will prevail against these foes! 
I’m voting instead for fresh squeezed lemonade and watermelon, preferably with lots of ice in the glass and an extra chilling in the freezer for the watermelon. It sounds so good, I might even get off the couch!

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
Image | This entry was posted in Comfort food, family, Generations, NASCAR, retirement, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

