Positive mental attitude: it’s what’s happening!

  
Exercise helps our mood, the experts say. Sometimes we’re in such a bad funk, we can’t even get off the couch to go walk down the block. Just getting out of bed seems a chore, or brushing our teeth takes more energy than we have. Going to the store to buy one of those fancy electric jobs might be nice, but then we’d have to get dressed and fight the traffic. Bummer. Even looking online is too much, for making decisions takes mental energy, which has flown the coop along with any spark of personality we once had. 

Folks say it takes more muscles to frown than to smile, and maybe we get tired from being sad rather than glad. After a long term of “stinking thing,” we might need to retrain our thought patterns to optimism. The fancy term for this is “cognitive behavior modification,” but we can call it replacing negative thoughts with positive thoughts. 
When “I can’t” starts a thought, say to your self instead, “How could I do part of this? What change could I make to make even the start possible? How can I achieve part of my goal now, and work on the rest later?” 

This act breaks the large hurdles into smaller, more manageable tasks, which we can achieve. As we complete tasks, we are climbing a mountain. No one surmounts the summit in a single bound (except maybe Superman, and he’s a fictional character). We should expect to make our ascent one step at a time. 

  
So kitchen peeps, this is my advice to you today: Keep your chin up, your eyes focused on the goal, and a positive mental attitude. This works for me, and I’ve been a chronic depressive for four decades. It’s been a month since my daughter’s death. That is long enough to grieve. While I’ll always miss her, it’s time for me to return to the real world. I’m walking Saturday, November 21, in the Spa 5K Race here in Hot Springs. Some folks will be actually competing for a low time and a high place. They seek a trophy. I will be walking for the experience. Last year I met the Elvis impersonator, the kazoo twins, the chick filet cow, and several other characters along the way. I finished last in my age group for time, but I had the best experience, and was voted best dressed. Always look on the bright side! 

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Depression, disease, Exercise, Grief, Grief, Grief, Health, Ministry, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

