Thanksgiving Dinner with Friends

imagePreaching portion control is easier when the plate has little sections already marked out for this purpose.

I wasn’t so lucky with the desert plate, however, but at least it was a smaller plate. The photo makes them look the same size. I got half a piece of cake, some fruit salad, more of my cranberry compote, and a pumpkin cake.

Since I wasn’t hungry until 9 pm last night, I only ate a tad: some cottage cheese with the compote. This morning I lost a pound on the scales. I may find it again tomorrow, but our value and worth isn’t in this number.

Rather, our value is the image we all bear of the God who loves us without fail. We aren’t valued by the size of our jeans, but by the size of our love. God will pour abounding love into your hearts if you will open them, and the you can share that abundance with the world.

May the season of Thanksgiving be in your hearts all year long.

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Comfort food, deserts, family, sharing, thanksgiving, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

