END OF THE YEAR TRADITION: HOUSE CLEANING

Many of y’all know this past year I lost track of my homeless daughter. Concurrently, I also lost track of cleaning my home. I put on blinders and said, “Dust? What dust?” I may have hit the furniture with a flip of the wrist and a promise of end dust along the way, but I did no serious housekeeping of any sort.   
I make that confession as one who kept homes for others. I know how folks feel when their lives get so out of hand or so busy, they aren’t able to clean or even do laundry. When my mother was daily caring for my daddy in the nursing home, she ate cereal for breakfast, a sandwich for lunch, and picked up some deli from the store for supper. When I came down on my days off to visit her, my first task was to clean the fridge of all the expired foods. She no longer had the energy to do this. 
Keeping a home clean isn’t all that hard, but putting my projects away after I’m done is a chore. I’m decluttering my place, getting rid of poor decorating choices, and dusting. I couldn’t wait until the crew finished the window replacements. I can’t stand the dust now!

Maybe all the energy I expended waiting to hear about my daughter’s situation is now being redirected into a positive direction. I now know her fate, I have confidence in god’s compassion for wandering children and I no longer worry for her. 

My hope for your new year is you find the place in your lives that needs cleaning. You might not yet be ready for a complete remodel, but picking up, straightening, or decluttering might be a good thing. Do one of these a week, until you get it settled as a new habit. You can do them in any order. Consider one of the following:

Unsubscribe from all those commercial emails. 

Limit facebook to an hour a day. 

Read a spiritual devotion daily. 

Exercise 30 minutes daily. 

Eat more fiber. 

Eat more fruits and vegetables. 

Get 7 to 8 hours of sleep per night. 

Have no more than 1 drink per day (women) or two (men). 

Never binge drink. 

Turn off all media an hour before bedtime. 

Limit caffeine in the afternoon. 

Of course, you can add others of your own choosing. 

Have a Blessed New Year! 

See you in the Kitchen! 🍴🍰☕️ Cornie. 

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Coffee, Exercise, family, Generations, Grief, Grief, Grief, Health, New year, sharing, Spirituality, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

