THE JAPANESE HAVE A NAME FOR MY AFFLICTION

  
Hokusai: New Year’s Days of the Tea House Ogi-ya (woodcut)

O-souji or The Big Year End Cleaning Ritual

I must have been Japanese in a former life. 
So far I’ve rearranged the bathroom cabinets, hung a new curtain in the tub, cleaned the shower grout, washed the mattress cover, cleaned out the bookshelves to donate the books I’m no longer reading, taken the clothes I don’t wear to the resale shop, and taken down the old curtains. 
These I repurposed for the studio, and I gave away a rug I never felt was right. Then I noticed my kitchen tile was dirty, so I cleaned it with a magic sponge. When I opened the ice box, I realized I could see crumbs of stuff underneath the bins. I don’t know how long they’ve been there, but they aren’t there any longer! When one area gets clean, then the next area has to be cleaned also, or it looks extra soiled. 

  
The hardest thing about cleaning this lower part of my fridge was getting my trick knee to raise my body up again from a kneeling position. I thought I might be crawling about the floor for a while until I found a sturdy surface and I could pull myself upright. 

While I don’t seem to have the energy for creative work, I am one cleaning machine. I seem to have a kinship with folks halfway across the world. 

While it is the time of the year for preparing Christmas and New Year’s Eve parties in many countries, in Japan things are a little different. It is the time when people return to their hometown to enjoy a few days together with their families. However, the lack of parties does not mean Japanese people do not have any rituals or culture in welcoming the new year. The one custom which I love the most, called o-souji (大掃除), is when you have to do a big cleaning before the year’s end. This big cleaning usually takes place in your workplace and your home.

The History of O-souji

In the West, the big cleaning is commonly held at the beginning of spring, and people usually call it “Spring Cleaning”. In Japan, o-souji is literally formed by 掃除 (そうじ, souji, to clean) and 大(おお, o-, big), so o-souji can be defined as “a big cleaning” and it is done by the end of the year. Back in the Edo period when most Japanese houses had hearths and fire stoves, the house would rather get dirty by the end of the year. Edo Castle started to be cleaned in December, and people started to believe that the December cleaning was not merely a matter of cleaning the house, but also as a purification ritual in preparation for greeting the New Year God, Toshigami-sama.

The New Beginning

Therefore, the Japanese belief that o-souji is more than only getting your house prepared for the coming of the whole family continues today. It symbolizes a fresh spirit and a new beginning. The most important part of o-souji, known as susuharai (煤払い, dust cleaning), is the act of cleaning your home and workplace from dust and dirt. While doing susuharai, we also give thanks for the blessings of the previous year and we clean to purify the spaces for the year to come.

When to Do O-souji

The o-souji ritual used to start around the second week of December, starting at the 13th day. But nowadays the ritual seems to be done a lot later, even as late as the last day of December (大晦日, o-misoka, December 31st). In many companies, schools, or work places, o-souji is held just before the Christmas holiday comes, around December 23rd or 24th.

Though it seems like space cleaning is an easy task to do, while doing o-souji, parts of the home or office that are usually not cleaned—ventilation fans and windows, the hard-to-get-to tops of tall shelves, lamps, and storage areas that are usually not normally accessed — are all cleaned at this time of year, which makes New Year’s cleaning rather demanding physical work. At this time of the year, fill your house with cleaning products, and pay attention to removing dirt from the parts of your house that never got your attention before. When your living and working space are clean and tidy, you will find that your mood is actually lifted and you are ready to welcome the new year with a new mind!

GREETINGS AND BLESSINGS FOR THE NEW YEAR. MAY EACH OF YOU FIND A CLEAN SPACE IN YOUR HEARTS, LIVES, AND HOMES FOR JOY, PEACE, AND HOPE. 

LOVE, CORNIE. 
http://jpninfo.com/36791

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in disease, Exercise, Japan, Ministry, New year, Occupation, Spirituality, Travel, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

