PAUL BUNYAN’S EXERCISE PLAN

Begin where you are & do something every day.It’s that easy. Nothing more, and nothing less. 

You just need to keep on keeping on. 

  

Paul Bunyan was such a giant of a man,so the story goes, he was able to carry Babe, his blue ox, upon his shoulders as he walked along the trail.
How was he able to do this? He lifted the small calf every day. As the animal gained weight, Paul gained strength proportionately. When the ox got to be full size, old Paul had the big muscles to do the job!
Most people who start an exercise plan at the New Year (or a new eating plan) won’t be around the gym in February. If you got a treadmill for Christmas, it will most likely be an extension of your closet by Valentine’s Day. 

  

Perhaps it takes you 15 minutes a day just to work up the excitement to get on the machine which promises to give you a hunky body in a mere quarter hour per day, if only you had the strength to pull the ropes all the way down, mimicking the illustration. 

Advice from Cornie: if you buy a Fitbit or a pedometer (cheapest option), and discover you’re only walking 1,500 steps a day, you should not be on a machine at all. You should be at your doctor’s office asking what is appropriate exercise for you! Do not pass go, don’t collect $200, but go make an appointment ASAP! 

If you’re collecting around 5,000 steps, and have your doctor’s ok, walking is your best option. Start slowly. Add distance gradually. Add hills gradually. Add speed gradually. Do it daily for 10 minutes morning and afternoon if 20 minutes all at once wears you out at first. Only do 10 minutes if 20 minutes gets you down. Build up bit by bit!

My goal is to get 10,000 steps at least four days per week this year. This means I need to pick up my daily activity big time. I can get these steps on my big walk days, but not on my other days. These are 7500 more or less. As a writer an an artist, I normally work seated. I’m going to do more work standing and take more frequent breaks. If I do my little chores in between on break, then I would walk more, rather than conserving steps and doing these tasks in order as I pass once in a circuit through my living area. (Conservation of energy is a good principle for gasoline powered vehicles, not food powered bodies!)

Think of your exercise as your blue ox. You don’t have to lift the full grown ox today, but only the baby calf. You can do this!! We can do this!!

Have a good new year! This will be a healthier year for all of us. 

Joy & Peace, Cornie

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitbit, Health, menu, New year, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

