GET A ROUND TUIT 

  
I’ve been going through many old scrapbooks lately, as part of my healing process. I found a photo of my mother from the 1940’s, I think. She had lots of projects going, all at one time, and would say, “I’ll get around to it” when pressed for a completion date. She was a master juggler and could get it all done. Sometimes we ate hot dogs nuked on the electric dog cooker (yes, there was such a tool). And boiled noodles with butter and ketchup mixed into the bowl. For years, this was one of my favorite comfort foods, for it brought back memories of our table conversations as we relaxed after a busy day. 

My brothers talked about sports, school, and their friends. I spoke about art, friends, and what I learned that day. Mom and Dad kept our conversation going, making sure we spoke in complete sentences. 
Every once in a while, a “Save some for the rest of the family!” Would pop out of mother’s mouth. Daddy would smile, for he liked to see his children with healthy appetites. When I was older and off at school, he’d always ask, “How’s your appetite? You’re not off the feedbag, are you?”

“No, Daddy, l’m eating like a horse!” I’d answer. 

“That’s good,” he’d say. “I like to hear you’re eating well.”

If you’re so busy you don’t have time to sit down to eat, I suggest you get a round tuit. It’s that important. 

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Comfort food, Depression, family, Generations, Grief, Grief, sharing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

