Confined to the Couch: Called for Takeout

 

Xray of Sinuses

 
My old daddy was a doctor, of the “take two aspirin and call me in the morning if you’re not better” era. We children were put in bed to rest for 24 hours to see if we’d get better (unless bodily fluids were exiting or BRB was visible). I was about ten before I asked what BRB was: bright red blood. Liquids got my daddy’s attention, but feeling crummy got bed rest only. My old daddy has been gone from this world for 16 years now, but illness persists. I took another doctor for my healer, one who had as many of my dad’s good qualities as possible. 

I’ve been on inadvertent bed rest for the last couple months, or at least half rest as I’ve fought off a sinus infection. Everyone else was dropping like flies around me, but they were all working full time and staying up late. I was sleeping till 7 am, and getting 8 full hours of shuteye nightly. Eating well and getting exercise helps us stay healthy, but illness still can overtake us. 

Once I realized I couldn’t get going till 11 am, and my self ministrations were failing, I decided to call my new doctor. While no one will ever replace my old daddy, who always had a slow talking, country Doctor charm to his interactions with his patients, my new doctor has just as much care and concern for my health. 

“Don’t wait so long next time! You just missed coming in with walking pneumonia!” 

“Oh, I know, I just didn’t want to overuse the antibiotics and end up as an old lady dying of a drug resistant bug in the hospital at the end of my life. I’ve watched that happen. It’s not pretty at all.” 

“We’ll give you something to clear up your head. You won’t feel like a concrete block anymore and I’ll call in the antibiotic to your pharmacy. You’ll be feeling like your old self in a short time. ”

  I smiled. I was ready for my couch, but I was driving an hour home before that sweet reward.

By the time I was leaving the office, I was beginning to hold two thoughts together in my brain! I handed my paperwork to the clerk. “I’m feeling better already! It must be Holy Week! I’ve been healed!”

SLIDESHOW ON SINUSITIS 

http://www.webmd.com/allergies/ss/slideshow-sinusitis?ecd=wnl_spr_031916&ctr=wnl-spr-031916_nsl-ld-stry_title&mb=UejlE%40A6G%2fBcB7w8uAgiz%40HnVev1imbCQgMZAGAdZ0M%3d

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Allergies, disease, Easter, Exercise, family, Generations, Health, Occupation, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

