Thoughts on a too early breakfast and a too late lunch

Monday Fresh Start

A Late Lunch,

Wednesday Whipped

I’ve just finished the last crunchy bite of the toasted pepper jack cheese and avocado sandwich with spinach and cucumbers. I dusted it with a bit of rosemary and garlic Italian spices and a bare drizzle of oil and vinegar. I was very late to the lunch table, which also serves as a breakfast table, and often the dinner table if I’m dining alone. This morning I was up at zero dark thirty, which is an hour no human being should stir awake. 
I began my cups of coffee and my meditations in this darkness. The visible remnants of my breakfast remain, for I spent time posting not only the morning meditation and the art for my eight pages, but I also began to reflect on the unity of the body of Christ. I would take this farther and speak of the unity of the human spirit, for although many things separate us, we are all God’s creation and under God’s care. By this I mean we are all God’s children, made in God’s image. 

Even if we look different on the outside, we are still more like one another than we are like any other creature. We certainly act and love and feel and hope and need one another than we need or love the spiders or the snakes. Yet we seem to muster enmity for peoples in other countries or of different races as easily as we ick feelings about spiders or snakes. Yet not all snakes are dangerous, nor are all strangers out to harm us. But we want our choices to be cut and dried, black and white, left or right. Goats go left and sheep go right, and never the two shall change places. Write that in stone and don’t change it.  

Life might be easier, but this isn’t living. If we’re made in the image of the living God, we have freedom of choice, and for us without the character of the wholly good God, this means we might choose poorly. Choose we will, for better or worse, for we are alive! Those of us who give ourselves over to God daily, study God’s word and dedicate our lives to serving God will find our commitment rededicated over and over. 

I hope each of you, in whatever way you find your purpose in life, find the way to rededicated yourself into mission and ministry in the service to your neighbors. The only way you will find your life is if you lose it for another’s sake. 

“For those who want to save their life will lose it, and those who lose their life for my sake will save it.”

~~ Luke 9:24

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Coffee, Ironing, Ministry, Occupation, sharing, Spirituality, Uncategorized, war, Work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

