Real Food, Real Chef, Real Delight!

My sister in the faith and my best friend throughout my years of ministry have on occasion been privileged to serve in towns near one another. I’ve watched her children grow up from babies to young women who now are serving God in the church and the world. Although I’m nearly two decades older than she, we share our common life around the love of food. 
She’s almost an empty nester now, while I’ve lived this experience for near on a quarter century. Our conversations usually range across the breadth of life, faith, politics, family, health, and our latest passions. We don’t meet at fast food places because slow food allows us the opportunity to catch up on our lives. 

I enjoy this especially, since I tend to tell stories at length. It’s not a factor of age, for I’ve always been a Chatty Cathy (a doll I owned in the 1950’s). My church people used to say, “We’ve never figured out the difference between your short remarks, your devotions, and your sermons. They all seem to run about 15 minutes!”

This plate is Luna Bella’s green fettuccine with shrimp. It has asparagus, spinach, and a matcha (green tea) infusion, along with tomatoes and other peppers. Very tasty! I also ate the watermelon salad with goat cheese on spring greens. I loved every bite. 
A warning to caffeine sensitive folks: I was still wide awake at midnight and didn’t wind down until after 2AM. Since I was up, I performed a virus scan on my computer and cleaned out my email backlog. God can work for good in all things, if we relax and let go of our need to be in control. 

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in family, Food, Friendship, Generations, Hot Springs, Arkansas, Ministry, sharing, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

