The Best Dinner Yet

Basil & Corn Chicken Dinner


Announcing to anyone who cares: my appetite is back! And so is my attitude! So are the exclamation points!!

I don’t apologize for this, for I’ve had a touch of the epizootic. This is a complaint southern ladies had back in the day, when they didn’t want to name it in polite company. Of course, it’s actual definition is a disease in the animal population. Trust me, I was reduced to subhuman status during this confinement. Enough of my malaise, I’d rather talk of food. 

Scrambled Eggs & Grits

Once I diagnosed my symptoms, I realized ginger ale and 7Up were my best treatments to keep me hydrated. Then bland meals like grits and scrambled eggs were next. Later I added rice, then chicken. Meats, vegetables, and dairy were too hard on my digestion. Finally today I had corn, squash, tomato, mushroom, spinach, fresh basil, and chicken stirred up with some Italian spices and siracha spice. 

I could celebrate losing some weight, but this isn’t the best way to go about it. I was too weak and washed out to do much of anything. Why anyone would intentionally do this to themselves for a “cleanse” is beyond me. I’ve felt bad for a week from this experience, so I can’t imagine the effect of losing 6 pounds for the “fun of it.” It’s unhealthy to have rapid weight loss, and I think mine might be more dehydration. 

Remember Cornie’s motto: “The race belongs to those who persevere.” We don’t have to lose ALL our weight this year. If we can lose 10% this year AND change our life style, we will improve our health. Next year, we can lose another 10% AND make more improvements, so we can move closer to our desired goal. If we pick an “all or nothing” choice, we’ll most likely end up with nothing. I don’t say this to discourage you; I know from personal experience and from being older than dirt.  

Set a goal today: choose one lifestyle change to make a difference in your life. I keep a record of my food daily, so I weigh and measure my food (portion control). This keeps me accountable (I am a mindless eater). What will you choose to make a difference in your life? 

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in BMI, Comfort food, disease, emotional eating, Exercise, Food, Health, Southern Culture, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

