NATIONAL GOURMET COFFEE DAY! 


I’m at my local $5 bucks– it used to be the community $4 bucks, but with inflation, it’s a bit steeper today. It’s ok, the workers get paid fairly and the coffee is well sourced. Plus I don’t drink all my coffee out in a shop, when I can make my own at home from the same beans. 

Mail order, grocery purchase, or buy in shop, I love my fancy pants coffee. My dad and mom drank instant, so I grew up not caring for coffee. Little did I know, I wasn’t drinking decent coffee! Once I acquired the taste, while a freshman at college, I never looked back. I went on to the stronger stuff. Not even the great coffee shortage in the 1970’s could dull my taste for coffee, but the price could shut my pocket book. 

For a while, I did drink Celestial Seasons Mountain Thunder, until the price of coffee returned to normal. Then I picked up my old flame again and left the poor person’s caffeine delivery system in the back of the kitchen cabinets. Mornings just start better with coffee for me. Well, mornings don’t actually begin without coffee. The mere smell of water dripping through grounds is enough to open one eye, and the first good sip is enough to open well the other eye also. 

With cup in hand, I can breathe a prayer to the God above, thanking God for the blessings of this new day. And the coffee which makes it possible. One of the great pleasures of my new healthy life is I no longer visit my doctors as much, so I’m not putting out great medical bills. I used to have $8000 or more dedicated to doctors and drugs, but this is now down to half that. If I spend a $1/day on good coffee, I’m still under budget. (I’m not about to pay $10/day ever!) 

Healthy eating is actually less expensive than buying processed foods. BUT you have to buy the correct items and get them in bulk and in season. Buying processed and snack foods are out. Buying chef meals are out, so is going out to eat, or buying soft drinks. 

Learning how to cook is like going to school. You either need to take classes, do an apprenticeship, or do the self study route. We all have a good brain. By a process of elimination, we’d figure it out sooner or later. If you want “hamburger helper,” a package of egg noodles, a can of mushroom or chicken Creme soup, browned hamburger, fresh mushrooms, a chopped onion, some garlic, parsley, and pepper, with steamed broccoli or spinach added makes a filling meal. It also has less salt and more veggies than plain boxed meals have. It will serve more people also. Try it sometime. Eventually you’ll give up the can of soup for some of the starchy liquid and some grated cheese swirled together. It makes a nice sauce. Invent your own recipes too. 

Drink good coffee: your brain cells will thank you. Your family will thank you too. 

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Coffee, coffee, disease, Food, Health, processed foods, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

