WEEKEND WEATHER REPORT 

Welcome to the weekend! I’m drinking coffee on a rainy morning. Folks say if you don’t like the weather in Arkansas, wait a day or so. It’s going to be different, no matter what the weather gurus say. 

Our sunny high of 82F for yesterday never panned out, for the westerly front raced in and brought the clouds and cold rain at noon instead. The thunderstorms at midnight with brilliant lightning flashes shot down any chance of seeing the famous Lyrid Meteor showers which happen every year around this time. 
Today I might have to say goodbye to Mr. Air Conditioner and say hello to Mr. Heater, since our anticipated weather will be wet and cold: 61 and 47F. We’re back to an earlier spring scenario. Nevertheless, I’ve learned the hard way from my experience in my adopted home, “Don’t put all your out of season clothes away.” In any event, drinking coffee in the morning can always bring a rainbow into my day. 
If we can’t control the weather, we can always adjust to it. If we only realized people were more like the weather, subject to storm fronts or barometric highs and lows, then we might understand why trying to control them is so difficult. At most we can guide human beings, for unlike nature, we creatures have a mind and a will. We can offer them a better way, provide consequences for poor choices and rewards for good ones, and we can be positive role models for them. 

At some point, we have to let go and let God take over the work we’re not able to effect in a contrary person. If that person is our own self, and it sometimes is–don’t get mad, I’ve been unable to let go of my own bad habits from time to time–we have to ask, “Who is the god of my life? Is it Me? Or is it the God of all creation? To whom do I answer? How can I best serve my family and the world in the this body of flesh?”

Sometimes the person we need to work on is our self. I always find drinking another cup of coffee helps my mind access the deeper levels of consciousness, or as we say in Cornie’s Kitchen, “Gosh! I think I’m coming to life now!”

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Coffee, coffee, Environment, family, Health, Hot Springs, Arkansas, Relationships, Self improvement, Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

