HOW HOT IS IT? 

If the Lord had a choice, he’d pick another day to make his return. If there’s already weeping and gnashing of teeth due to the heat, who’d know if they were being consigned to the hot place? While it’s true we don’t know when the Lord will return, I’m thinking these dog days of summer are a “bye” for us. 

While we wait, we can always cool our fevered brows and slack our thirsty throats with homemade limeade. I enjoy making mine fresh with my grandmother’s depression era milk glass juicer. I realize juicers now are high tech and will pulverize any vegetable or fruit, but this treasured one reminds me of many a sleep over and breakfast at her home. 

My recipe is simple: juice of two lines, Splenda to taste, and two cups of water. Pour over two tall glasses of ice. Add a sprig of mint if you want a different taste. Take the glass somewhere cool and relax. Don’t think of anything difficult or distressing until the drink is finished. 

In fact, once you finish it, don’t think of those distressing  things at all! Let go of them. You’ve had enough trouble for today. Rest. Let God handle those troubles for a while. Tomorrow you can work refreshed and renewed. 

I’m on the couch now, with the cold air conditioning blowing over my bare feet. I almost feel human again. Every sip I take brings me a bit closer to being able to find the kitchen and supper! It will be cold and fruity, not hot and savory. Enjoy your day or evening. 
Joy and Peace, Cornie. 

About artandicon

Artist, head cook at Cornie's Kitchen, explorer of both the inner and outer worlds, and tree hugger. My paintings are at ARTANDICON: art at the crossroads of life & faith. Every rock, tree, stream & cloud shouts out with the joy of God! I also write a sci-fi spiritual journey blog about Miriam, a time traveling priestess from the planet Didumos, who visits earth when she has an epileptic seizure, and shares my life. Obviously, my own mind was time traveling when I set up my journey blog! https://souljournieswordpress.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Comfort food, Depression era, family, Food, Generations, Great Depression, Southern Culture, splenda and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

